Attention all members!
Have a cool ride? Then show it off on our website! All vehicles welcome!

Fake Eclipse amp??

Post all your general car audio questions here.
J.W.
Senior Member
Posts: 156
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 6:51 am
Location: Florida

Fake Eclipse amp??

Post by J.W. »

hey ya'll. i just bought an eclipse amp on ebay and i just noticed something odd. The Eclipse logo badge is located on the right side of the amp, and every picture i see of the amp online shows the badge on the left side and not placed as close to the edge as the one i bought. check out these pictures:

just won: http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vi ... sPageName= STRK:MEWN:IT

picture of the 32440:
http://www.canze.org.nz/reviews/index.c ... ct_ID=1089

if you look closely at the side view of the amp in the auction you can see the "32440" but i'm somewhat wary about the different placement of the badge. could it have changed from one year to another?? thanks for you help. i dont want to get screwed!!
ridr4lif
Master of My Domain
Posts: 1654
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 11:00 am
Location: East Hampton, NY

Post by ridr4lif »

ebay link didnt work for me
TEDD
J.W.
Senior Member
Posts: 156
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 6:51 am
Location: Florida

Post by J.W. »

User avatar
lotas
Posts: 1112
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2004 8:00 am
Location: WA

Post by lotas »

well in positive hopes...maybe that eclipse thing snaps on and off of the "heat sink ridges" if you know what I mean and it was just snapped or slid to the right :) ?

your seller (as you prolly know) has 100% so i wouldnt be too worried.
J.W.
Senior Member
Posts: 156
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 6:51 am
Location: Florida

Post by J.W. »

that's what i was hoping. wasnt sure if it was common for "fake" amps to be sold. i've never really heard of it, but i really just got into car audio so i'm not that experienced. the 100% feedback does make me feel better, but it seems like all the seller sells is sports cards and not many amps so they probably wouldnt even know if it was a fake if they didnt buy it. i dont know man. i guess i'll give it a shot. thanks for the quick reply. anyone else have any thoughts?
dmeyer07
Senior Member
Posts: 944
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 12:00 pm
Location: ********

Post by dmeyer07 »

The amp you bought, looks differnt in other ways also. The heat sink looks differnt all in all Such as the design of the cooling fins, etc. But who knows maybe this is a differnt version or something. The Eclipse logo Is located on the left on almost all if not all models, i have never seen an eclipse amp with the logo located on the right side, nor that close to the edge. I have emailed Eclipse-web.com about the issue, when i recieve the reply i will post it.
Justin from Detroit1
Junior Member
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 6:00 pm
Location: Detroit

Post by Justin from Detroit1 »

Could just be a different year made amplifier. Some brands change a few things like once a year.
SiriusBlack
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2004 4:00 am
Location: Missouri

Post by SiriusBlack »

I own an Eclipse amp just like that one (not the same model, but the same case design), and that Eclipse logo, I think, is glued on to the case. I got mine from a buddy without the logo because he claimed that it fell off. There are traces of glue where the logo was though...

I highly doubt that the amp you bought is fake, of course I do stand corrected.
Jason
1977 Monte Carlo - Resonant Engineering :: Eclipse :: PPI :: Clarion
GSX
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 8:35 am
Location: West Winfield NY

Ask Eclipse

Post by GSX »

I would write to Eclipse and ask them, If it is a knock-off I am sure they would like to know about it!
armedforglory
Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2005 5:04 pm
Location: Pensacola, Florida

Post by armedforglory »

Hey JW, where in florida are you located?
Post Reply